Cello Handbook -- Phyllis Luckman Biography

Phyllis Luckman lives in Oakland, California. She was a cellist with the Berkeley Symphony Orchestra from 1981 to 1999, a member of the Orquesta Sinfonica de Xalapa, Mexico, the Oakland Symphony, the Bay Area Women's Philharmonic, and other regional orchestras. Ms. Luckman was a private cello teacher for 35 years, and a teacher of numerous group classes in music theory, history, musicianship and cello technique. She is a member of the California Cello Club and the American String Teacher's Association. She is also a composer of works for chamber ensemble, including a Symphony for Massed Cellos (1977) and a string quartet. Ms. Luckman, a graduate of the High School of Music and Art in New York, received a B.A. in English from Hunter College, and an M.A. in Music Composition from Mills College in Oakland, California. Her cello teachers have included Willem Durieux, Margaret Rowell, Colin Hampton, Bonnie Hampton and Michael Grebanier.

Cello Handbook Home


Table of Contents

View Sample Pages

What readers have said about the book....

Cello Repertoire List

About the Author

Corelli Sonata Arrangement

"Why Do I Have To Learn All That Stuff?"

Music for Sale
Cello Music for all Levels
New, Used,Out of Print
Cello mutes
Vocal Scores

Ordering Information